Childhood Years

There was a piece in the Guardian where someone called Kate Lew goes round Britain swimming. It’s called Kate Lew’s Wild Swims. Now, not being the swimming type myself, it’s not the thing I would normally watch, but she chose to swim in Ted Hughes’ country, in Lumb Falls, where he grew up and played as a child. Since he is one of my favourite poets I was intrigued and had a look. Kate meets Donald Crossley, an old childhood friend of Hughes, who expounds on the influence of Hughes’s childhood countryside environment on his poetry. So I thought, well, take a leaf… except of course, my childhood was in a city, Cardiff, to be exact, which wasn’t exactly picturesque at the time – not bad, but not picturesque. Anyway, you can read my attempt at recapturing childhood memories here.